Planted By God to Display His Glory -Isaiah 61:3

Sharing at Internet Cafe Devotions today!

…if you spend yourselves in behalf of the hungry and satisfy the needs of the oppressed, then your light will rise in the darkness, and your night will become like the noonday. Isaiah 58:10 NIV


Helping OthersThis scripture hit me over the head like a two-by-four about ten years ago.
 I was grieving the recent loss of a dear family member and adjusting to a 6,000 mile move back to the U.S. after three years living abroad…then September 11, 2001 happened.

It was too much grief to bear and the darkness of it closed in upon me. To make matters worse, there was no “rewind” button to jump back into the friendships and church community I had left three years before. Things were different, I was different, and my old friends had moved on.

Except for the immediate family of my husband and daughter, I was desperately alone, and in emotional pain the likes of which I never imagined possible to live through.

I clung to my Bible for comfort to help me rest through the darkest hours of night and ransacked the pages during the day, desperately looking for crumbs of hope to live on.

It was on one of those desperate searches one day I found more than a crumb to live on—I found an endless feast of truth in Isaiah 58.

IF you spend yourself, THEN the light will enter your darkness…

Click here to read the rest of my story.

Have a blessed day spending away!  🙂

~Linda

Comments on: "Spend Yourself: How Helping Others Can Help You" (1)

  1. A perfect start to my day…a reminder in the midst of extreme tiredness of God’s promise of His light shining through me if I spend myself on others, despite how I feel. With kids in the house, the spending yourself is often not a choice! But my attitude in doing it is. Thank you, Linda. Isaiah 58 is amazing…going to go read the whole thing now! By the way, you’re amazing, too! Love you.

Leave a Reply

