Planted By God to Display His Glory -Isaiah 61:3

Ready for New Adventures

I wish I were as young (and pretty) as the girl in this picture is. But today, in my 50-something heart, I am this girl, only better.

When I was her age this picture would be of me getting ready to run away from everything I knew. At the time I resented familiar. Small town life bored me. Being known as the “good girl” in my family constrained me. Something inside wanted out. It wasn’t just a rebellious streak, it was a rebellious identity crisis. There was a risk-taking, little bit crazy, fun-loving, courageous and intensely curious person who wanted a chance at life.

Too bad it would take that girl years to figure out where she really wanted to go and who she really was.

But that’s the beauty and the adventure of a journey isn’t it? We never really know what’s going to happen or how it will change us. As Robert Frost said in his famous poem, The Road Not Taken: “I took the one less traveled by and that has made all the difference.”

I ran away from familiar, and it was precisely because of that choice that I eventually ran smack into God. Without Him on the journey with me these last twenty-some years, I would still be out there desperately looking for the real me.

It’s a road that’s been full of potholes, yet it’s led me to sweeping scenic vistas. I’ve littered it with tears, laughter and some words I wish I could have back. I’ve put my red shoes on and danced for joy. Then headed off in directions I wished I had not. At times I’ve wanted to turn back, and at times I’ve stopped, paralyzed by fear.

“Do it afraid,” God whispered in my ear.

“I will,” I answered back.

My suitcase is packed and ready to head out with God on new adventures for 2012. I don’t have a clue where I’m going, but I know I’m not running away this time. Familiar doesn’t trap me and life is not boring. Yet there is still something inside that wants out–the full expression of the real me. The risk-taking, little bit crazy, fun-loving, courageous, intensely curious, I-want-to-live-and-breathe-and-have-my-being-in-Jesus me!

I’m ready to be real, live real and love real.

I’m standing in front of familiar, I’ve got my favorite dress and red shoes on, my old suitcase in hand and I’m ready for the road less traveled Lord!

Time to step out on new adventures!

Won’t you join me?

~ Linda

© Linda Crawford, Sunny Side Up (not scrambled), 2012

Thanks so much to Elisabeth at Elisabeth Anna Photography for allowing me to use her amazing photo! What an amazing talent you have girl!

And a shout out to the Girls Like Me at the Sanctuary Church in Santa Clarita, California! Stepping out with you and into all that God has for us this year!

Comments on: "Ready for New Adventures" (4)

  1. I’m with you, suitcase in hand and ready for 2012’s adventures! It’s gonna be a great ride! Love you lots!

  2. Amazing post!! What a BLESSING to find you! I clicked over from ICDevos today. Can’t wait to read more:))
    Love, Amy

Leave a Reply

