Planted By God to Display His Glory -Isaiah 61:3

What Am I Fishing For?

What Am I Fishing For?

I think this picture could sum up my life. First it was love, then a little good fortune and money to survive. Later I went fishing for some recognition in my work, and finally, after many failures at those, I saw the value of fishing for my faith.

But even though I caught it, the fishing never stopped. Sometimes I still fish for love, fortune and fame. And in the midst of everyday life, the triumphs and the sorrows, I am constantly fishing for more faith.

So…I put the worm on the hook again…and what am I fishing for today?

All of the above.

Good thing Jesus is teaching me to fish and holds the pole with me. That way we reel in the catch of the day I REALLY need.

Which just might be joy for the journey.

What are you fishing for today?

“You parents—if your children ask for a loaf of bread, do you give them a stone instead? Or if they ask for a fish, do you give them a snake? Of course not! So if you sinful people know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your heavenly Father give good gifts to those who ask him.” Matthew 7:9-11 NLT

[I decided to do my own version of Five Minute Friday today and would love for you to join me! Look at the picture above, write your own five-minute story, and post it in the comments. Have fun!]

© Linda Crawford, Sunny Side Up (not scrambled), 2011.  All rights reserved.

Comments on: "What Am I Fishing For?" (1)

  1. Your fishing adventure blessed me! Here’s my take on heart, 3-leaf clover, star, cross, and just E 🙂 http://bendedspoon.wordpress.com/2011/10/09/day-9-know-that-you-are-blessed/
    Thank you for the invitation to join you — fun! Blessings to you 🙂

Leave a Reply

