Planted By God to Display His Glory -Isaiah 61:3

Cinnamon Toast

I could have died last week.

How’s that for an opening sentence?

Yes, I’m being a bit over-dramatic, but the truth is I probably came as close as I ever have to realizing the possibility. But I didn’t get it at first.

It took too much time to get through my thick head that I needed to be in the Emergency Room, not driving around town looking for a doctor to tell me I did NOT have a partially collapsed lung, when indeed I did.

It also took too much time for the folks in the ER to believe me when I got there. Three hours to be exact. But when they finally saw the pictures, frantic people suddenly descended on me in a flock, and before I knew it I had a tube in my chest that was supposed to save my life.

I’m sure it did, but it didn’t work perfectly. It sprang a leak the next day that actually made me worse before it made me better. So yes, I was being a bit over-dramatic with my first sentence, but there certainly was drama in my life for a few days last week.

What’s toast got to do with all that? A few weeks ago I wrote a post called Bad Days Happen with the picture below.

I would classify last week as close to a burnt toast kind of day. Here’s a scripture I shared in that post:

God will help you deal with whatever hard things come up when the time comes. Matthew 6:34 (The Message)

I can testify that He does help when the time comes.

Even more than a tube in your chest helps, God helps.

Not only does He help, His grace works amazing transformations and healings on the inside:

Even though on the outside it often looks like things are falling apart on us, on the inside, where God is making new life, not a day goes by without his unfolding grace. 2 Corinthians 4:16 The Message

Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. 2 Corinthians 4:16-17 NIV

My translation of these scriptures (after last week’s drama):

Bad days happen. Stupid burnt-toast-bad days.

BUT

God takes the burnt toast days and transforms (renews) them by His grace into something yummy for my soul…

CINNAMON TOAST.

My favorite I-don’t-feel-good comfort food.

With lots of butter, sugar, and spice, cinnamon toast is like love on a plate when you’re served breakfast in bed the day your nose won’t stop running, or your tummy feels a bit yucky. That’s what my Mommy did.

And that’s what my heavenly Daddy does for me too. He gives me love on a plate of His grace in the midst of the smell of burnt toast. He feeds me with hope, faith, joy, and the strength to endure.

I had a few burnt-toast days last week, but feasting on God’s cinnamon toast I believe I’ll forever be sweeter.

Thank you God for your cinnamon toast love.

 

Thanks for having breakfast with me.

It was yummy. And restores my soul.

Comments on: "Cinnamon Toast" (1)

  1. I will never look at cinnamon toast in the same way!!! “Love on a plate of grace…” I’ll have seconds of that, please!!!

    Praising the Lord you are ok!!!

Leave a Reply

