Planted By God to Display His Glory -Isaiah 61:3

I like my eggs scrambled, not sunny side up. They’re too messy. And take too much effort to get them cooked just right—not too runny and not too hard. (Are they ever really perfect?) Plus, they get put on gross things like corned beef hash, ham, steak, or potatoes. In Japan they eat them with soy sauce. Yuck.

Besides, I prefer cereal for breakfast. A little milk and sugar and I’m good to go.

But I’ve got a new cook in my kitchen lately. And he wants me to start my day differently. Less groggy comfortable routine, and more “here, try this new recipe.” Like sunny side up eggs…which I hate. Well, that’s an overstatement, but I really don’t care for them much. Like I said, they’re messy, and different, and I want to eat the things I want to eat…

Some mornings it feels like Gordon Ramsey has invaded my life and “Hell’s Kitchen” is my reality show. Except Gordon “bleeps” too much. My chef is much kinder and patient, but still puts food in my face that I find hard to eat. Like this dish:

Moreover [let us also be full of joy now!] let us exult and triumph in our troubles and rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that pressure and affliction and hardship produce patient and unswerving endurance. Romans 5:3 (Amplified Bible)

Yuck. Eggs with soy sauce is what that looks like to me.

I’m in affliction. I deal every day with the pressures and hardships of life. And I don’t feel like being “full of joy NOW!” Especially before my first cup of coffee.

But there it is, today’s menu from the head chef of my life. And He says “Here, eat this, it’s good for you.” Day after day, no matter how much I protest, sometimes ignore, or occasionally even refuse, He shows up with the “manna du jour.” And I’ve discovered an interesting thing—the worse I think it tastes, the sweeter the fruit it turns into in my life. That’s right, it’s the yucky stuff that’s the best for me. But I’m also starting to realize that what looks sweet most of the time still has those eggs underneath…because:

Every part of Scripture is God-breathed and useful one way or another—showing us truth, exposing our rebellion, correcting our mistakes, training us to live God’s way. Through the Word we are put together and shaped up for the tasks God has for us. 2 Timothy 3:16 (The Message)

So every word I eat is meant to help me “shape up” for the tasks God has for me… Sounds like miracle food—nutrition and exercise in every bite!

So even though Wikipedia says sunny side up eggs have declined in popularity in the U.S., I’m going to try to eat them every day. And maybe, just maybe, my life will be a little less scrambled.

Thanks for having breakfast with me today. It was yummy.

Linda Crawford

 

 

Read Why Sunny Side Up? The story of how this breakfast blog got started.

Read Why I Write (Trust me, it’s not for the money.)

Read About Linda Then tell me you like me. It helps me eat less chocolate.

Comments on: "Sunny-Side Up (not scrambled)" (4)

  1. Morning Glory said:

    I loved having breakfast with your this morning. It was hard drinking my coffee through the smile on my face as I read your blog. Yes, I would have much preferred doing breakfast with you face-to-face but will have to settle for the new tech way of communicating since I’m still in my jammies and know you are too.

    Your blog reminded me of Julia Roberts’ movie, “Runaway Bride.” She really didn’t know what kind of eggs she liked because she adopted the favorites of the men she dated since she didn’t know herself. Talk about an identity crisis and how much we have conformed to those we admire and want to be just like them. Yet our Father God has wonderfully and fearfully made us just the way we are for the delight and pleasure of His good purpose. How He wants to reveal to us His creative design He has crafted into each one of us. We just need to ask.

    Now back to the eggs….scrambled is my least favorite. I prefer sunny side up or poached eggs. I like the runny, gooey put of the yoke soaking up my toast. It’s the rubbery part of scrambled eggs I don’t like. Of course if you cook them just right they aren’t rubbery. Putting colorful sauteed veggies in scrambled eggs can coax me into a plate of the scrambled mess but a veggie omelet would rank over the scrambled mess. I feel we’re all a scrambled mess in some form or another and the need for a loving Father, redeeming Savior and the guidance of a powerful Holy Spirit to live our life here on earth with much joy, love and grace for the rest of the scrambled population.

    Thanks for blessing my morning with your thoughts and heart for our loving Father.

    Morning Glory

  2. I love this!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers

